Rarefied Light

2016 Rarefied Light


Juror: Amy Arbus

Best of Show: Smoke and Shadows Greg Hensel

Honorable Mentions:
Cemetery Hill Will Anderson
Fleeting Images Joe Kashi
Freak Show Charlotte Peterson
Untitled Charlotte Peterson
Untitled Dennis Walworth



Rarefied Light 2016 was juried by Amy Arbus.  Amy has had 35 solo exhibitions worldwide and her photographs are part of the collection of The National Theatre in Norway, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art.

The 2016 Rarefied Light call for entries was accepted online through Call For Entries.  Initial deadline for digital entries was May 27, 2016.

Rarefied Light 2016 opened at the International Gallery of Contemporary Art
427 D St, Anchorage, AK 99501
First Friday Opening Reception: Nov 4, 2016 at 5:30-7:30 pm



2015 Rarefied Light

Juror: Susan Burnstine

Best of Show: House in the birch forest Kaitlin Wilson

Honorable Mentions:
Jump Javid Kamali
Kaden Shalem Mathew
Sunbeam Meike Paniza
High Five Breanna Peterson
baby, you didn’t have a choice Cody Swanson








Rarefied Light 2015 was juried by Susan Burnstine.  Susan is a well-known and highly respected photographic artist.  She presented a free public lecture at the Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center auditorium on July 16, 2014 at 7:00pm.

The 2015 Rarefied Light prospectus can be found here [PDF].  Initial deadline for digital entries was May 19, 2015. The prospectus also has information about our workshop “Defining the Personal Narrative” with juror Susan Burnstine, which took place July 17-19, 2015.

We encourage you to become a member of APC. Our membership brochure details all the advantages of being an APC member, including reduced entry fees for Rarefied Light and preferred workshop participation.

Rarefied Light 2015 opened at the International Gallery of Contemporary Art on October 2, 2015.


2013 Rarefied Light

Juror: Sean Kernan.

Best of Show: The Last Exit on Earth Gary Postlethwait

Honorable Mentions:
Cold as Ice Bob Hallinen
Snow Shower in October Ryoto Kajita
Waiting to Happen Javid Kamali
April Snow, 2013 Clark James Mishler
Abandoned House in Blizzard, Barrow, AK
Mary Virginia Stroud










2012 Rarefied Light

Juror: Cig Harvey.

Best of Show: Taurus Maggie Skiba

Honorable Mentions:
Coney Island Sundays Brian Adams
Regalia Oscar Avellaneda-Cruz
Moving Through Laura Avellaneda-Cruz
Circus Girl (Lawrence-Atwood Far North Big Top Attractions), c.1902 Hal Gage
The West Loren Holmes
Elizabeth Matt Johnson
Split Janice Parsley





2011 Rarefied Light

Juror: KayLynn Deveney.

Best of Show: Wit Bob Curtis-Johnson

Honorable Mentions:
Dimond Center Hotel #1 Joseph Kashi
Anuket Garry Kaulitz
Statis Garry Kaulitz
Phil Mitch Kitter
Mounted, 2010 Clark James Mishler
Alaska Landscape #3, 2010 Clark James Mishler
Pig Face Tim Thomas
‘Berg’ with Mud Hat Tim Thomas



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s